This is the "Home" page of the "Geology " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geology   Tags: geology, science  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in the field of Geology.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/geology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Geology News from Geology.com

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

VERNON PEEPLES LIBRARY Yarger Geology Collection

The Vernon Peeples Library at the Charlotte Campus hosts The Yarger Geology Collection.  The collection contains local fossils as well as rocks and minerals from around the world.  The collection is updated periodically and information on each item is provided. The collection is open to all during normal library hours.

 

eBooks

Cover Art
Celebrating the Megascale - Phillip J. Mackey
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781118889671
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
This volume contains the proceedings of the David Robertson Honorary Symposium: Celebrating the Megascale, held at the TMS 2014 Annual Meeting in San Diego, California. Dr. David G.C. Robertson, Professor Emeritus of Metallurgical Engineering at the Missouri University of Science and Technology, has devoted his career to the education of highly skilled metallurgical professionals and to the science of all types and sizes of metallurgical processes, particularly those involving molten metals. The volume contains more than 70 papers covering the important topics and issues in metallurgy today including papers as follows: keynote papers covering a tribute to Robertson, workforce skills needed in the profession going forward, copper smelting, ladle metallurgy, process metallurgy and resource efficiency, new flash iron making technology, ferro-alloy electric furnace smelting and on the role of bubbles in metallurgical processing operations. Topics covered in detail in this volume include ferro-alloys, non-ferrous metallurgy, iron and steel, modeling, education, and fundamentals.

Cover Art
Future Earth - Diana Dalbotten
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781118854266
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Earth now is dominated by both biogeophysical and anthropogenic processes, as represented in these two images from a simulation of aerosols. Dust (red) from the Sahara sweeps west across the Atlantic Ocean. Sea salt (blue) rises into the atmosphere from winds over the North Atlantic and from a tropical cyclone in the Indian Ocean. Organic and black carbon (green) from biomass burning is notable over the Amazon and Southeast Asia. Plumes of sulfate (white) from fossil fuel burning are particularly prominent over northeastern North America and East Asia. If present trends of dust emissions and fossil fuel burning continues in what we call the Anthropocene epoch, then we could experience high atmospheric CO2 levels leading to unusual warming rarely experienced in Earth's history. This book focuses on human influences on land, ocean, and the atmosphere, to determine if human activities are operating within or beyond the safe zones of our planet's biological, chemical, and physical systems. Volume highlights include: Assessment of civic understanding of Earth and its future Understanding the role of undergraduate geoscience research and community-driven research on the Anthropocene Effective communication of science to a broader audience that would include the public, the K-12 science community, or populations underrepresented in the sciences Public outreach on climate education, geoscience alliance, and scientific reasoning "Future Earth" is a valuable practical guide for scientists from all disciplines including geoscientists, museum curators, science educators, and public policy makers. This volume was made possible with the support of the National Science Foundation through the National Center for Earth-surface Dynamics (EAR-0120914) and the Future Earth Initiative (DRL-0741760). Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation."

Cover Art
Fossils of the Carpathian Region - István Fzy; István Szente; Gareth Dyke (Editor)
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9780253009876
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Istvan Fozy and Istvan Szente provide a comprehensive review of the fossil record of the Carpathian Basin. Fossils of the Carpathian Region describes and illustrates the region's fossils, recounts their history, and tells the stories of key people involved in paleontological research in the area. In addition to covering all the important fossils of this region, special attention is given to rare finds and complete skeletons. The region's fossils range from tiny foraminifera to the Transylvanian dinosaurs and mammals of the Carpathian Basin. The book also gives nonspecialists the opportunity to gain a basic understanding of paleontology. Sidebars present brief biographies of important figures and explain how to collect, prepare, and interpret fossils."

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Florida Sinkholes - Robert Brinkmann
Call Number: Charlotte Campus Circulation GB615.F53 B75 2013
ISBN: 9780813044958
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
"Brinkmann skillfully takes a technically and legally complex topic and weaves it into a shape that experts and the general public will understand and enjoy. Richly referenced to support further study, this book is very readable and includes pleasant but unexpected information on how Florida's history was shaped by sinkholes."--George Veni, Executive Director, National Cave and Karst Research Institute   "The most comprehensive and thorough resource to date on Florida's sinkholes. Robert Brinkmann draws on decades of personal experience with Florida's complex karst landscape to focus on the pressing issues of sinkhole development, public perception of the danger, and possible solutions for the future."--Jason Polk, Western Kentucky University, Associate Director, Hoffman Environmental Research Institute   "An excellent and fascinating review of the science and policy issues behind the remarkable phenomenon of karst sinkholes in Florida. Recommended not only for environmental geology and karst specialists but also for members of the general public in Florida whose lives are actually or potentially affected by sinkholes or who want to learn more about the environment they live in."--Alexander Klimchouk, director, Ukrainian Institute of Speleology and Karstology   Florida Sinkholes--the first comprehensive book on the subject--is an easy-to-follow guide to understanding how sinkholes form and what to do about them. City planners, construction managers, developers, and homeowners alike will find this book invaluable because of the heavy impact and increasing frequency of sinkhole formation in the state. Packing an abundance of sound scientific fact into frank, readable language, this book examines case studies of notable sinkholes, explains karst--the Swiss cheese-like formations of soluble rock that underlie Florida's peninsula--and reviews practical concerns like structural damage, repairs, and insurance problems related to sinkholes.

Cover Art
Geologic History of Florida - Albert C. Hine
Call Number: Charlotte Campus Circulation QE99 .H56 2013
ISBN: 9780813044217
Publication Date: 2013-06-18
An explanation of the geological processes that formed Florida.

Cover Art
Catastrophes! - Donald R. Prothero
Call Number: Lee Campus Circulation QE506 .P76 2011
ISBN: 9780801896927
Publication Date: 2011-03-16
Devastating natural disasters have profoundly shaped human history, leaving us with a respect for the mighty power of the earth-and a humbling view of our future. Paleontologist and geologist Donald R. Prothero tells the harrowing human stories behind these catastrophic events. Prothero describes in gripping detail some of the most important natural disasters in history: - the New Madrid, Missouri, earthquakes of 1811-1812 that caused church bells to ring in Boston- the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami that killed more than 230,000 people- the massive volcanic eruptions of Krakatau, Mount Tambora, Mount Vesuvius, Mount St. Helens, and Nevado del Ruiz His clear and straightforward explanations of the forces that caused these disasters accompany gut-wrenching accounts of terrifying human experiences and a staggering loss of human life. Floods that wash out whole regions, earthquakes that level a single country, hurricanes that destroy everything in their path-all are here to remind us of how little control we have over the natural world. Dramatic photographs and eyewitness accounts recall the devastation wrought by these events, and the people-both heroes and fools-that are caught up in the earth's relentless forces. Eerie, fascinating, and often moving, these tales of geologic history and human fortitude and folly will stay with you long after you put the book down.

 

Streaming Videos

Rise of the Continents - America - BBC Worldwide Ltd.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
From the bedrock under the Empire State Building to the Spanish empires in South America, the two land masses of North and South America are linked by geology and history. Today North and South America have some of the most spectacular landscapes on earth. They're the product of a violent geological past that shaped an equally turbulent human history. A BBC/Science Channel co-production.

Oceania. The Tectonic Ring of Fire - Europe Images International.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
Over the many billions of years of the Earth's history our planet has never stopped changing shape. Massive tectonic forces have sculpted and re-sculpted our world in a never ending journey. Tectonics has created life - and destroyed it as well. In this opener of a five part documentary series, we examine the movements of the Australian and Pacific tectonic plates and the resulting landscap

Mountains and Mountain-Building Processes
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2012
We think of mountains as eternal, but they are evidence of our planet’s surface bending and buckling like cardboard. Examining Earth’s mountain-building processes in detail, this program also studies the weathering, erosion, and mass wasting by which mountains are worn down. Viewers gain insight into the basic factors that underlie volcanic activity, the various types of geological faults, and the tectonic processes in which oceanic and lithospheric plates collide, separate, or slip past each other, resulting in dramatic physical changes. Eye-catching graphics as well as live-action footage from the Alps, Andes, Cascades, Rockies, and Himalayas help illustrate concepts.

The Day the Wave Came: The Tsunami Disaster - Journeyman Pictures
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2013
The world is still coming to terms with the magnitude and impact of the tsunami that decimated the coastline around the Indian Ocean on December 26, 2004. This documentary introduces newspaper reporter Ross Coulthart, who traveled across the region soon after the tragedy occurred to record the survivors’ stories. He provides a minute-by-minute account of what happened in countries most affected by the disaster. The Day the Wave Came is a comprehensive retelling of how events unfolded. Why no warnings were issued is explained, and the individual stories of how people survived and what the impact has been on their shattered lives are retold.

 

FSW Catalog: Search the Library Here

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tony Valenti
Contact Info
Collier Campus
Bldg. G
239-732-3776
Send Email
 

My QR Code

Google Scholar

 

How Are We Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip