This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in the field Engineering.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/engineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Science Daily Engineering News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

NAE News Feed

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Advanced Computational Engineering and Experimenting III - Andreas Oechsner (Editor)
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9783038264507
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This special issue of Key Engineering Materials contains selected refereed papers presented at the Seventh International Conference on Advanced Computational Engineering and Experimenting (ACE-X 2013) held at NH Ribera del Manzanares (Madrid), Spain during the period 1st - 4th July, 2013. The goal of the conference was to provide a unique opportunity to exchange information, to present the latest results as well as to review the relevant issues on contemporary research in mechanical engineering. Young scientists were especially encouraged to attend the conference and to establish international networks with well-known scientists.

Cover Art
Advanced Research on Civil Engineering, Materials Engineering and Applied Technology - Helen Zhang (Editor)
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9783038263609
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 2013 2nd International Conference on Civil Engineering and Material Engineering (CEME 2013), December 21-22, 2013, Wuhan, China. The 125 papers are grouped as follows: Chapter 1: Materials and Mechanical Engineering, Applied Mechanics; Chapter 2: Construction, Civil, Building Engineering and Geology Science; Chapter 3: Chemistry and Environmental Technologies; Chapter 4: Applied Technology and Information System

Cover Art
Advanced Structural Damage Detection - Tadeusz Stepinski; Wieslaw Staszewski; Tadeusz Uhl
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118422984
Publication Date: 2013-06-24
Structural Health Monitoring (SHM) is the interdisciplinary engineering field devoted to the monitoring and assessment of structural health and integrity. SHM technology integrates non-destructive evaluation techniques using remote sensing and smart materials to create smart self-monitoring structures characterized by increased reliability and long life. Its applications are primarily systems with critical demands concerning performance where classical onsite assessment is both difficult and expensive. Advanced Structural Damage Detection: From Theory to Engineering Applications is written by academic experts in the field and provides students, engineers and other technical specialists with a comprehensive review of recent developments in various monitoring techniques and their applications to SHM. Contributing to an area which is the subject of intensive research and development, this book offers both theoretical principles and feasibility studies for a number of SHM techniques. Key features:  Takes a multidisciplinary approach and provides a comprehensive review of main SHM techniques Presents real case studies and practical application of techniques for damage detection in different types of structures Presents a number of new/novel data processing algorithms Demonstrates real operating prototypes Advanced Structural Damage Detection: From Theory to Engineering Applications is a comprehensive reference for researchers and engineers and is a useful source of information for graduate students in mechanical and civil engineering

Cover Art
Building Physics - Heat, Air and Moisture - Hugo S. L. C. Hens
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9783433602348
Publication Date: 2012-10-04
Bad experiences with construction quality, the energy crises of 1973 and 1979, complaints about 'sick buildings', thermal, acoustical, visual and olfactory discomfort, the need for good air quality, the move towards more sustainability, all have accelerated the development of a field, which until some 40 years ago was hardly more than an academic exercise: building physics. Building physics combines several knowledge domains such as heat and mass transfer, building acoustics, lighting, indoor environmental quality and energy efficiency. In some countries, also fire safety is included. Through the application of existing physical knowledge and the combination with information coming from other disciplines, the field helps to understand the physical phenomena governing assembly, building envelope, whole building and built environment performance, although for the last the wording `urban physics? is used. Building physics has a true impact on performance based building design. This volume focuses on heat, air, moisture transfer and its usage in building engineering applications.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
City Logistics - Eiichi Taniguchi (Editor); Russell G. Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: Lee Campus HE305 .C57 2015
ISBN: 9781482208894
Publication Date: 2014-11-24
City Logistics: Mapping The Future examines the key concepts of city logistics along with the associated implementation issues, methodologies, and policy measures. Chronicling the growth of city logistics as a discipline and how planning and policy have improved practice over the last ten years, it details the technologies, policies, and plans that can reduce traffic congestion, environmental impact, and the cost of logistics activities in urban freight transportation systems. The book provides a comprehensive study of the modelling, planning, and evaluation of urban freight transport. It includes case studies from the US, UK, Netherlands, Japan, South Africa, and Australia that illustrate the experiences of cities that have already implemented city logistics, including the methods used to solve the complex issues relating to urban freight transport. Presents procedures for evaluating city logistics policy measures Provides an overview of intelligent transport systems in city logistics Highlights the essential features of joint delivery systems and off-hour delivery programs Supplies an overview of access restrictions and regulations related to city logistics in urban areas Expert contributors from major cities around the world discuss regional developments, share success stories and personal experiences, and highlight emerging trends in urban logistics. Coverage includes mathematical modeling, public policy planning and implementation, logistics in urban planning designs, and urban distribution centers. The book examines the impact of recent advancements in technology on city logistics, including information and communication technologies, intelligent transport systems, and GPS. It also considers future directions in city logistics, including humanitarian logistics, alternative transport modes in co-modality, last kilometer deliveries, partnerships between public and private sectors, alternative fuel vehicles, and emerging technologies such as 3D printing.

Cover Art
The Essential Engineer - Henry Petroski
Call Number: Lee Campus Circulation T173.8 .P467 2010
ISBN: 9780307272454
Publication Date: 2010-02-23
$26.95 US $33.00 CAN   From the acclaimed author of The Pencil and To Engineer is Human, The Essential Engineer is an eye-opening exploration of the ways in which science and engineering must work together to address our world's most pressing issues, from dealing with climate change and the prevention of natural disasters to the development of efficient automobiles and the search for renewable energy sources. While the scientist may identify problems, it falls to the engineer to solve them. It is this inherent practicality of engineering, which takes into account structural, economic, environmental, and other factors that science often does not consider, that makes engineering vital to answering our most urgent concerns. Henry Petroski takes us inside the research, development, and debates around the most critical challenges of our time, exploring the feasibility of biofuels, the progress of battery-operated cars, and the question of nuclear power. He gives us an in-depth investigation of the various options for renewable energy-among them solar, wind, tidal, and ethanol-explaining the benefits and risks of each. Will windmills soon populate our landscape the way they did in previous centuries? Will synthetic trees,, said to be more efficient at absorbing harmful CO2 than real trees, soon dot our prairies? Will we construct a "sunshade" in outer space to protect ourselves from dangerous rays? In many cases, the technology already exists, and what's needed is not so much invention as engineering. Just as the great achievements of centuries past-the steamship, the airplane, the moon landing-once seemed beyond reach, the solutions of the 21st century's problems await only a similar coordination of science and engineering. Eloquently reasoned and written, The Essential Engineer identifies and illuminates these problems-and above all sets out a course for putting ideas into action.   [Insert author photo] Catherine Petroski     Henry Petroski is the Aleksandar S. Vesic Professor of Civil Engineering and a professor of history at Duke University. The author of more than a dozen previous books, he lives in Durham, North Carolina, and Arrowsic, Maine.   With 12 illustrations in text   Jacket design by Chip Kidd   Alfred A. Knopf, Publisher, New York 2/2010  

Cover Art
How to Cool the Planet - Jeff Goodell
Call Number: Lee Campus Circulation QC981.8.C5 G666 2010
ISBN: 9780618990610
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
Right now, a group of scientists is working on ways to minimize the catastrophic impact of global warming. But they’re not designing hybrids or fuel cells or wind turbines. They’re trying to lower the temperature of the entire planet. And they’re doing it with huge contraptions that suck CO2 from the air, machines that brighten clouds and deflect sunlight away from the earth, even artificial volcanoes that spray heat-reflecting particles into the atmosphere. This is the radical and controversial world of geoengineering, which only five years ago was considered to be "fringe." But as Jeff Goodell points out, the economic crisis, combined with global political realities, is making these ideas look sane, even inspired.  Goodell himself started out as a skeptic, concerned about tinkering with the planet’s thermostat. We can’t even predict next week’s weather, so how are we going to change the temperature of whole regions? What if a wealthy entrepreneur shoots particles into the stratosphere on his own? Who gets blamed if something goes terribly wrong? And perhaps most disturbing, what about wars waged with climate control as the primary weapon? There are certainly risks, but Goodell believes the alternatives could be worse. In the end, he persuades us that geoengineering may just be our last best hope—a Plan B for the environment. His compelling tale of scientific hubris and technical daring is sure to jump-start the next big debate about the future of life on earth.  

 

Streaming Videos

Britain’s Secret Engineers - BBC Worldwide Ltd.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
If you need to build a ’top-secret’ piece of equipment in the U.K., there’s one place many people choose to go: defense contractor QinetiQ. Follow workers at this leading British company on a global journey as they reveal a handful of their secretive projects. Meet the scientists and engineers building robots to defuse Afghanistan’s deadly roadside bombs and learn how they’re adapting them to help in dangerous civilian situations at home. Find out how British experts are using ’stealth technology’ to make wind turbines less visible to radar and, with unprecedented access, follow the engineers racing to get Chinook helicopters ready for front line service-including in Afghanistan.

Fracking: The New Energy Rush - BBC Worldwide Ltd.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
Iain Stewart investigates a new and controversial energy rush for the natural gas found deep underground. Sometimes, this is right under the places people live in. Getting it out of the ground involves hydraulic fracturing - or fracking. Iain travels to America to find to find out what it is, why it is a potential game changer and what we can learn from the US experience. He meets some of the people who have become rich from fracking as well as the communities worried about the risks.

Things You Need to Know...About Engineering - BBC Worldwide Ltd.
Call Number: 2014
James May uncovers the fascinating science of engineering, giving the real ’nuts and bolts’ account of how things really work-from the wheel to the Saturn V rocket. Through animation and motion graphics, James reveals the answers to several questions. How have smart men with spanners managed to change the world? What did steam ever do for us? What is the smartest machine? When can I move to Mars? Learn who has been building skyscrapers for millions of years, what a football has to do with nanotechnology, and how a 180 mph chicken gun and foul-tasting tea can help keep you safe on a plane.

 

FSW Catalog: Search the Library Here

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tony Valenti
Contact Info
Collier Campus
Bldg. G
239-732-3776
Send Email
 

My QR Code

Google Scholar

 

How Are We Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip