This is the "Home" page of the "Dental Hygiene " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dental Hygiene  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in the field of Dental Hygiene.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/dentalhygiene Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Oral Health News from MedicineNet.com

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Thriving Dentist Podcast

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

eBooks


Cover Art
Oral Health Care in Systemic Diseases - Sirikarn Sutthavong; Atik Sangasapaviriya
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781606929414
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Oral health is known to be associated with general health. Much oral significance is closely related to systemic diseases. There are several categories of systemic patients for whom specific needs of dental care and counseling are needed. In some instances, so as to reach the optimal total health care, a combination of medical and dental care is necessary. Furthermore, poor oral hygiene itself is a risk factor for systemic diseases such as periodontal status which can increase the severity of heart disease and diabetes. Oral hygiene assessments are important so as to eliminate predisposing factors for oral complications such as nasopharynx cancer, immune-compromised disease, diabetes and valvular heart diseases in patients. Since early assessment can reduce both the incidence and severity of oral complications, some early appropriate interventions can be engaged according to the individual's treatment needs. It is necessary to carry out consistency in the treatment by including periodically follow up and appropriate counseling to the patients, so they may be able to take care of themselves up to the desired outcome. This book focuses on the oral health care for specific groups of the systemic patients i.e. diabetes, head and neck cancers, cardiovascular disease, and AIDS.

Cover Art
Periodontology - Herbert F. Wolf; Thomas M. Hassell; Gail L. Aamodt (Foreword by); Susan J. Jenkins (Foreword by)
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 1588904407
Publication Date: 2006-07-12
Dental hygiene professionals need the very best scientific and clinical knowledge at their fingertips to effectively assist in the prevention and treatment of periodontal disease. Periodontology puts the needs of hygienists center stage, providing a detailed and brilliantly illustrated reference for daily practice, and a wealth of knowledge to underpin successful diagnosis and treatment. A firm grasp of the pathogenesis of periodontal disease is essential for the hygienist. This book clearly outlines the vital concepts in immunology, genetics and destruction and repair of periodontal tissues. The innovations and new scientific evidence in these fields are lucidly described and invoke new approaches to etiology, diagnosis and treatment. The importance of links between oral health and general systemic health cannot be overestimated. Periodontology conclusively demonstrates the necessity for patient and clinician to keep these associations to the forefront of risk assessment and treatment. The benefits of this integrated approach will be clearly seen in the focus on prevention of oral disease, a primary objective for all hygiene professionals. The book shows how the systemic considerations influence the combination of diagnostic, therapeutic, pharmacological and mechanical treatment strategies. Frequently encountered disorders such as gingival recession and pathological changes in the peridontium are comprehensively documented and the range of prevention and treatment options set out. The inclusion of specialized subjects such as oral manifestations of HIV disease and the developments in its treatment serve to underline the key position of the hygienist in the wider health care team. The exceptional color photos throughout will be an indispensable guide to clinicians and students, and indeed a welcome resource for educators. From diagnostic tools such as depictions of levels of bleeding right through to detailed instrumentation techniques, these photos and their concise accompanying text form an outstanding best-practice guide. Concluding with the American Academy of Periodontology's Classification of Periodontal Disease, Periodontology will augment the knowledge and skills of dental hygienists, keeping practitioners up to date and providing students with the essential knowledge base for a career in periodontics.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Clinical Practice Dental Hygien - Wilkins; Esther M. Wilkins
Call Number: Lee Campus Circulation RK60.5 .W5 2013
ISBN: 9781608317189
Publication Date: 2012-01-30
Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist is the cornerstone text in almost every dental hygiene education program. Written by one of the preeminent voices in dental hygiene education, this text provides students and practitioners with the knowledge and skills for successful practice as a dental hygienist. This comprehensive book progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward, outline format, making information easy to locate, understand, and reference. Following the standards for Clinical Dental Hygiene Practice, as set forth by the American Dental Hygienists Association, this eleventh edition has been revised to cover new technology as well as additional core concepts in the field, such as culturally sensitive communication and evidence-based practice. In addition, this new edition brings more focus on documentation as part of the dental hygiene profession.

Cover Art
Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist - Demetra D. Logothetis
Call Number: Lee Campus Circulation RK510 .L646 2012
ISBN: 9780323073714
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
Written by a dental hygienist for dental hygienists, Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist helps you learn the safe and effective administration of local anesthesia. Coverage is tailored to fit the role and needs of the dental hygienist and promotes patient-centered care by integrating discussions of the Human Needs Paradigm with complete instructions for local anesthesia administration. Full-color photographs illustrate specific injection techniques, and colorful illustrations show dental anatomy. Written by experienced educator Demetra Logothetis, this reference presents material at the right level for dental hygienists and prepares you for success both on your licensure exam and in your career. Nearly 450 high-quality images include full-color photographs showing injection techniques and illustrations of dental anatomy. Supportive approach acknowledges not only the patient's fear of injection but also the fears of the inexperienced clinician. A focus on the Human Needs Paradigm relates dental hygiene care to the eight human needs. Case studies make it easier to apply knowledge to real-life patient interactions and to develop problem-solving skills. Technique/Procedure boxes provide step-by-step instructions for performing specific procedures. Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes provide tips and key points for optimal care. Color-coded local anesthetic tables help in distinguishing among specific categories of agents and match the color codes of the American Dental Association (ADA). Key terms begin each chapter and are highlighted within the text; a glossary defines each term. Learning objectives begin each chapter and set goals for what you will accomplish; they also help you study for examinations. Review questions at the end of each chapter provide the opportunity to assess your understanding, with answers posted on the companion Evolve website. Summary tables and boxes offer at-a-glance access to concepts, procedures, and techniques. Expert author Demetra Logothetis is a dental hygiene educator with 15 years of experience teaching local anesthesia administration. A companion Evolve website includes a 300-question mock examination, technique exercises, glossary exercises, test-taking tips and strategies, competency skill sheets, content updates, and answers to the chapter review questions along with rationales and page-number references.

Cover Art
Procedures Manual to Accompany Dental Hygiene - Michele Leonardi Darby; Margaret Walsh
Call Number: Lee Campus Reference RK60.5.D44 2010
ISBN: 1416061002
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
Reinforce your classroom knowledge and learn to perform clinical procedures with ease and accuracy. The Procedures Manual to Accompany Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice contains step-by-step descriptions with information about the materials and equipment necessary to carry out the procedures. Rationales are included to ensure that you comprehend the science behind each step of the procedure. The manual also includes client education handouts and helpful tables and lists covering assessment, evaluation, and general client care. You'll want to keep this book by your side as a quick reference in clinics and as a refresher once you start your practice. Procedures include simple, clear illustrations and rationales for each step. Client education handouts and physical assessment and communication tips provide targeted resources for your role in the prevention of oral diseases. The easy-to-use format makes it a handy and highly portable reference.

 

Streaming Videos

Oral Assessment and Dental Diseases in the Elderly - National Educational Video, Inc.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2011
Proper dental evaluations and hygiene are vital aspects of caring for an elderly client. Neglecting signs of oral health puts patients at risk for heart disease as well as more common problems like halitosis and bad breath, which can be embarrassing and could cause social and psychological problems. This program discusses specific conditions and diseases of the mouth, provides nursing and health care assistants with the procedures necessary for completing an oral exam, and presents ways to take action against oral problems. Viewers will learn how to recognize and manage a wide range of dental issues, including sores, dry mouth, problematic dentures, and oral cancer.

Dental health - Information Television Network
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2006
Good dentists-and smart dental patients-think of the mouth as the first line of defense against disease. This program details the importance of maintaining good dental health, not only for aesthetic reasons, but also to prevent diabetes, cardiovascular inflammation, and other serious health threats. Illustrating the ways that gingivitis and periodontal disease destroy gum and bone tissue, the program shows how these mouth ailments can ultimately weaken systems throughout the body, with dangerous and possibly fatal effects on the pancreas, blood vessels, heart, and even unborn babies. Interviews with respected dentists reinforce critical concepts and treatment options.

Gum disease: beyond tooth loss - Information Television Network
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2005
Mounting evidence indicates that there is a definite correlation between unhealthy gums and risk factors impacting overall bodily health. In fact, the bacteria that cause gingivitis and periodontitis also multiply the chance of heart attack, stroke, pneumonia, and, for mothers-to-be, premature birth. In this program, dental professionals address these and other related life-threatening conditions; spell out the symptoms, stages, and treatment of periodontal disease; and explain the simple steps to maintaining good oral hygiene.

 

FSW Catalog: Search the Library Here

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tony Valenti
Contact Info
Collier Campus
Bldg. G
239-732-3776
Send Email

Google Scholar

 

Google Book

 

How are we Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


What are YOUR Favorites?

 

My QR Code

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip