This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice   Tags: criminal_justice, law_enforcement  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in Criminal Justice.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/criminaljustice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Controversies in Innocence Cases in America - Sarah Cooper
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781409463559
Publication Date: 2014-05-22
This volume brings together leading experts on the investigation, litigation and scholarly analysis of innocence cases in America, from legal, political and ethical perspectives. The contributors consider the challenges faced by the exoneration movement, causes of wrongful convictions, problems associated with investigating, proving, and defining OCyinnocenceOCO, and theories of reform. These issues are investigated from a multi-disciplinary perspective and with the aim of improving the American criminal justice system when it is faced with its most harrowing sight: an innocent defendant."

The Growth of Incarceration in the United States - Causes and Consequences of High Rates of Incarceration Committee; Law and Justice Committee; Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education Staff; National Research Council Staff; Steve Redburn (Editor); Jeremy Travis (Editor); Bruce Western (Ed
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9780309298025
Publication Date: 2014-05-08
After decades of stability from the 1920s to the early 1970s, the rate of imprisonment in the United States more than quadrupled during the last four decades. The U.S. penal population of 2.2 million adults is by far the largest in the world. Just under one-quarter of the world's prisoners are held in American prisons. The U.S. rate of incarceration, with nearly 1 out of every 100 adults in prison or jail, is 5 to 10 times higher than the rates in Western Europe and other democracies. The U.S. prison population is largely drawn from the most disadvantaged part of the nation's population: mostly men under age 40, disproportionately minority, and poorly educated. Prisoners often carry additional deficits of drug and alcohol addictions, mental and physical illnesses, and lack of work preparation or experience. The growth of incarceration in the United States during four decades has prompted numerous critiques and a growing body of scientific knowledge about what prompted the rise and what its consequences have been for the people imprisoned, their families and communities, and for U.S. society. "The Growth of Incarceration in the United States" examines research and analysis of the dramatic rise of incarceration rates and its affects. This study makes the case that the United States has gone far past the point where the numbers of people in prison can be justified by social benefits and has reached a level where these high rates of incarceration themselves constitute a source of injustice and social harm. "The Growth of Incarceration in the United States" recommends changes in sentencing policy, prison policy, and social policy to reduce the nation's reliance on incarceration. The report also identifies important research questions that must be answered to provide a firmer basis for policy. The study assesses the evidence and its implications for public policy to inform an extensive and thoughtful public debate about and reconsideration of policies.

Cover Art
Taming Lust - Doron S. Ben-Atar; Richard D. Brown
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9780812209259
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
This fascinating history examines the circumstances of two elderly New Englanders who were prosecuted and sentenced to death for bestiality at the turn of the eighteenth century. Their astonishing cases become a springboard to examine the Enlightenment Era political and religious turmoil of the region.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
At the Cross - Melynda J. Price
Call Number: Lee Campus HV8699.U5 P75 2015
ISBN: 9780190205539
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Curing systemic inequalities in the criminal justice system is the unfinished business of the Civil Rights movement. No part of that system highlights this truth more than the current implementation of the death penalty. At the Cross tells a story of the relationship between the death penalty and race in American politics that complicates the common belief that individual African Americans, especially poor African Americans, are more subject to the death penalty in criminal cases. The current death penalty regime operates quite differently than it did in the past. The findings of this research demonstrate the the racial inequity in the meting out of death sentences has legal and political externalities that move beyond individual defendants to larger numbers of African Americans. At the Cross looks at the meaning of the death penalty to and for African Americans by using various sites of analysis. Using various sites of analysis, Price shows the connection between criminal justice policies like the death penalty and the political and legal rights of African Americans who are tangentially connected to the criminal justice system through familial and social networks. Drawing on black politics, legal and political theory and narrative analysis, Price utilizes a mixed-method approach that incorporates analysis of media reports, capital jury selection and survey data, as well as original focus group data. As the rates of incarceration trend upward, Black politics scholars have focused on the impact of incarceration on the voting strength of the black community. Local, and even regional, narratives of African American politics and the death penalty expose the fractures in American democracy that foment perceptions of exclusion among blacks.

Cover Art
Comparative Criminal Justice - Francis Pakes
Call Number: Lee Campus HV7419 .P35 2015
ISBN: 0415826276
Publication Date: 2014-12-19
This book offers an accessible introduction to comparative criminal justice and examines and reflects on the ways different countries and jurisdictions deal with the main stages in the criminal justice process, from policing to sentencing. This popular bestseller has been fully updated and expanded for the third edition. This textbook provides the reader with: a comparative perspective on criminal justice and its main components; a knowledge of methodology for comparative research and analysis; an understanding of the emerging concepts in comparative criminal justice, such as security, surveillance, retribution and rehabilitation; a discussion of global trends such as the global drop in crime, the punitive turn, penal populism, privatization, international policing and international criminal tribunals. The new edition has been fully updated to keep abreast with this growing field of study and research, including increased coverage of the challenge of globalization and its role and influence on criminal justice systems around the world. Topics such as state crime, genocide and the international criminal court have also grown in prominence since the publication of the last edition and are given increased coverage. This book will be perfect reading for advanced undergraduates and postgraduates taking courses in comparative criminal justice and those who are engaged in the study of global responses to crime. New features such as lists of further reading, study questions and boxed case studies help bring comparative criminal justice alive for students and instructors alike.

Cover Art
Profiling and Criminal Justice in America - Jeffrey B. Bumgarner
Call Number: Lee Campus HV9950 .B86 2015
ISBN: 1610698517
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
An unbiased examination of profiling in the criminal justice system—one of the most hotly contested public policy issues—on the streets, in the courts, and in the jails and prisons of America. * Presents essays from scholars in the field on both sides of the debate to provide fair and objective information that allow readers to consider the interests of equality and fairness on one side versus public safety and crime fighting on the other * Examines profiling along a wide range of variables—race, religion, gender, and sexual orientation—rather than addressing only racial profiling * Covers more recent events in profiling such as Arizona SB 1070, the "Stop and Frisk" policy in New York City, and the TSA's profiling of Muslims as well as older cases such as Whren vs. United States * Provides summaries and analyses of key court cases relating to the permissibility and impermissibility of profiling

 

Streaming Videos

Crisis Stage - BBC Worldwide Ltd.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
The final film of the series follows 25-year-old legal student Kelly Hickman as she attempts to save two young killers facing execution. Robert Pruett was sentenced to death for murdering a prison guard at the age of 20. Robert Garza was a member of the notorious Tri-City Bombers street gang and sentenced to death at the age of 20 for his part in the drive-by killing of four young women. Hickman's team works on the two cases where all of the offenders' normal legal appeals have failed and they are now just weeks away from execution.

Moyers & Company : Incarceration Nation - Public Affairs Television (Firm).
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
There are more African-Americans under correctional control today - in prison or jail, on probation or parole - than were enslaved in 1850, a decade before the Civil War began. In this edition of Moyers & Company, Bill speaks with civil rights lawyer and legal scholar Michelle Alexander, whose book The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness has become a bestseller and spurred a wide conversation about justice and inequality in America, inspiring one reviewer to call it "the bible of a social movement." This program also includes an excerpt from the documentary Susan, by Tessa Blake and Emma Hewitt. The film tells the story of former California inmate Susan Burton, who runs five houses offering help to women struggling to rebuild their lives after prison.

The Central Park five - PBS Home Video
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2013
Chronicles America’s complicated perceptions of race and crime through the story of the Central Park 5-a group of minority teenagers wrongfully convicted of brutally raping a white woman in New York.

 

FSW Catalog: Search the Library Here

 

The Criminal Docket Podcast

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tony Valenti
Contact Info
Collier Campus
Bldg. G
239-732-3776
Send Email
 

My QR Code

Try This!

 

How are We Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip