This is the "Home" page of the "Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender (LGBT) Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender (LGBT) Studies  

This guide contains recommended books, websites, films, and online databases--collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources--that support research in the field of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender (LGBT) Studies.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/content.php?pid=130748 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly articles and reference sources. You must have a valid Edison State College library card to use these resources.

Specific Databases

These databases are particularly good for locating scholarly articles in the field of LGBT studies. You must have a valid Edison State College library card to use these resources.

Online Periodicals

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America - Marc Stein
Call Number: REF HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 Lee Campus
ISBN: 0684312611
3 v. : illustrations ; 29 centimeters
(Booklist *Starred Review*) A carefully constructed entry list includes more than 500 entry subjects. A wide spectrum of subject areas is covered: people; politics; culture and the arts; academic disciplines and fields; identities, communities, and cultures; geographical locations; law and public policy; economics and labor; sex, sexuality, intimacy, and relationships; religion and spirituality; language, symbols, signs, and concepts; social life, issues, and institutions; and social, cultural, and political processes. More than 400 years of historical developments are chronicled.

Cover Art
The dictionary of homophobia : a global history of gay & lesbian experience - / edited by Louis-Georges Tin ; translated by Marek Redburn, with Alice Michaud and Kyle Mathers.
Call Number: REF HQ76.4 .D53 2008 Lee Campus
ISBN: 1551522292
496 pages : illustrations ; 26 centimeters
More than 70 scholars contributed 160 mini-essays to this wide-ranging survey of where and how in the world homophobia continues to resonate. It’s an invaluable eye-opener for North American-centric queer activists who believe that many battles have been won. Originally published in France in 2003, this ambitious translation from a small Canadian press is an honorable achievement.
—Richard Labonte, Book Marks

 

Reference E-Books

These Reference e-books are available 24/7.  You must have a valid Edison State College Library Card to access these e-books.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of gay and lesbian popular culture [electronic resource] - Luca Prono.
Call Number: e book
ISBN: 0313335990
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008
xii, 310 pages : illustrations ; 27 centimeters
The entries consist predominately of biographies, with a few articles discussing television shows, movies, and some other forms of entertainment. There are a few British biographical entries, but Americans comprise the largest part of the book. (Booklist)

Cover Art
History of Homosexuality in Europe - Florence Tamagne
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0875862535
New York, N.Y. : Algora, 2006
2 v in 1 ; 24 centimeters
(Choice) This is a major contribution to homosexuality's history. Systematically thorough, it encompasses a great range and number of sources, gathered finally in a bibliography (novels, memoirs, biographies, psychology essays; in volume 2, national archives, police and magistrate records, and periodicals). The first volume argues that homosexuality, a 'high culture' sort, enjoyed a golden age consequent upon the Great War's liberalization of morals. In volume 2, reaction and repression march through the 1930s. Unusually, Tamagne's narrative comparing three countries has a close, nuanced analysis of both homosexuals and lesbians.

Homosexuality and Religion: An Encyclopedia - Jeffrey S. Siker
Call Number: e-book
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007
x, 258 pages ; 27 centimeters
"Scholars mostly of religion but also of gender and other concerns in the social sciences begin with synthetic essays on how the relationship between homosexuality and religion plays out in law, the social sciences, the biological sciences, and spirituality. The core articles survey attitudes and practices in a range of religions and Christian denominations; and consider such topics as AIDS and HIV, clergy and ordination, marriage, and queer theology." (Reference & Research Book News)

Lesbian Histories and Cultures - Bonnie Zimmerman
Call Number: ebook
New York : Garland Pub., 2000
lvi, 862 pages : portraits
Includes bibliographical references and index.

(Gay and Lesbian Humanist) This is a mammoth tome, part of the Encyclopaedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures, and is not a volume that one would read through at one sitting. The book is very heavily weighted towards the United States – the vast majority of the contributors are American or live in America, and the introduction makes it clear that it is very “US centric”. The point of an encyclopaedia is to provide easy and quick access to comprehensive information on specific topics and personalities. Whilst we have not had the time to read the entire volume, the topics appeared to be well researched and presented in significant depth, with excellent references to related writings.

Cover Art
The dictionary of homophobia [electronic resource] : a global history of gay & lesbian experience - / edited by Louis-Georges Tin ; translated by Marek Redburn, with Alice Michaud and Kyle Mathers.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1551522292
Vancouver : Arsenal Pulp Press, c2008
496 pages : illustrations ; 26 centimeters
More than 70 scholars contributed 160 mini-essays to this wide-ranging survey of where and how in the world homophobia continues to resonate. It’s an invaluable eye-opener for North American-centric queer activists who believe that many battles have been won. Originally published in France in 2003, this ambitious translation from a small Canadian press is an honorable achievement.
—Richard Labonte, Book Marks

 

Recommended DVDs in the Collection

After Stonewall: from the riots to the millennium
Call Number: DVD AFTER STONEWALL Lee Campus
documentary

Angels in America
Call Number: DVD ANGELS AMERICA Lee Campus
feature film

Before Night Falls
Call Number: DVD BEFORE NIGHT FALLS Lee Campus
feature film

Boys Don't Cry
Call Number: DVD BOYS DONT CRY Lee Campus
feature film

Brokeback Mountain
Call Number: DVD BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN Lee Campus
feature film

For the Bible Tells Me So
Call Number: DVD FOR THE BIBLE TELLS ME Lee Campus
documentary

Gods and Monsters
Call Number: DVD GODS MONTSERS Lee Campus
feature film

Milk
Call Number: DVD MILK Lee Campus
feature film

Paragraph 175
Call Number: DVD PARAGRAPH 175 Lee Campus
documentary

The Laramie Project
Call Number: DVD LARAMIE PROJECT Lee Campus
feature film

The Times of Harvey Milk
Call Number: DVD TIMES OF HARVEY MILK Lee Campus
documentary

Tying the Knot
Call Number: DVD TYING THE KNOT Lee Campus
documentary

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Frank Dowd
Contact Info
Office: Rush Library J-213
Phone: 239-489-9449
Send Email
 

My QR Code

Google Scholar

 

Google Books

 

How are We Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


What are YOUR Favorites?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip