This is the "Home" page of the "Computer Science " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Science   Tags: computer_science, information_science_and_technology  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in the field of Computer Science.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/computerscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CNET Computer News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Science Daily Computer Science News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Cybersecurity and Cyberwar - P. W. Singer; Allan Friedman
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 0199918090
Publication Date: 2014-01-03
Dependence on computers has had a transformative effect on human society. Cybernetics is now woven into the core functions of virtually every basic institution, including our oldest ones. War is one such institution, and the digital revolution's impact on it has been profound. The Americanmilitary, which has no peer, is almost completely reliant on high-tech computer systems. Given the Internet's potential for full-spectrum surveillance and information disruption, the marshaling of computer networks represents the next stage of cyberwar. Indeed, it is upon us already. The recent Stuxnet episode, in which Israel fed a malignant computer virus into Iran's nuclearfacilities, is one such example. Penetration into US government computer systems by Chinese hackers-presumably sponsored by the Chinese government-is another. Together, they point to a new era in the evolution of human conflict. In Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know, noted experts Peter W. Singer and Allan Friedman lay out how the revolution in military cybernetics occurred and explain where it is headed. They begin with an explanation of what cyberspace is before moving on to discussions of how it canbe exploited and why it is so hard to defend. Throughout, they discuss the latest developments in military and security technology. Singer and Friedman close with a discussion of how people and governments can protect themselves. In sum, Cybersecurity and Cyberwar is the definitive account on thesubject for the educated layman who wants to know more about the nature of war, conflict, and security in the twenty first century.

Cover Art
Data Storage Networking - Nigel Poulton
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781118763230
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
Learn efficient ways to harness and manage your data storage networks Whether you're preparing for the CompTIA Storage+ exam or simply seeking a deeper understanding of data storage networks, this Sybex guide will help you get there. This book covers data storage from the basics to advanced topics, and provides practical examples to show you ways to deliver world-class solutions. In addition, it covers all the objectives of the CompTIA Storage+ exam (SG0-001), including storage components, connectivity, storage management, data protection, and storage performance. Focuses on designing, implementing, and administering storage for today's evolving organizations, getting under the hood of the technologies that enable performance, resiliency, availability, recoverability, and simplicity Covers virtualization, big data, cloud storage, security, and scalability as well as how storage fits in to the wider technology environments prevalent in today's cloud era Provides advice and real-world examples that storage administrators in the trenches can actually use An excellent study aid for the CompTIA Storage+ exam (SG0-001), covering all the exam objectives "Data Storage Networking: Real World Skills for the CompTIA Storage+ Certification and Beyond" provides a solid foundation for data storage administrators and a reference that can be consulted again and again.

Learning Object-Oriented Programming in C# 5. 0 - B. M. Harwani
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781285854571
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

 

Streaming Videos

The History of Computers - Video Education Australasia.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2013
This program traces the development of the electronic computer, from the valve-based devices of the mid-20th century to the invention of silicon-based technology and through to the manufacture of the first personal computers. The constant phenomenal growth in computing power and speed and the resulting reduction in costs are central themes. The video ends by examining what the future might hold in relation to computing technologies.

Man-Machine - Open University
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2013
Humanoid servants and bionic superpeople have long been a part of the science fiction landscape, but innovations in the field of robotics are now making futuristic ideas a reality, as this program shows. Host James May meets a formerly blind woman who can now see thanks to light-sensitive retinal implants, and learns that people with disabilities may soon gain full mobility by wearing a mechanical exoskeleton. May also investigates the possibilities of lifelogging, finds one of the world’s most advanced robots not at MIT or Caltech but at Disneyland, and comes face-to-face with an android so lifelike that it is nearly indistinguishable from a human being.

Rise of the Machines : Will Civilian Drones Reshape American Life? - ABC International.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2013
As America's military involvement in Iraq and Afghanistan winds down, many drones are coming home for use in border protection and municipal law enforcement. But domestic drone deployment is proliferating in other ways, too-in fact, anyone with a few hundred dollars can buy a sophisticated, unmanned aerial vehicle over the counter. Some operators are defying the law and flying their drones for commercial purposes-be they journalists following a story, real estate agents selling a house, or paparazzi chasing celebrities. This program examines the issue and explains how a congressional order could lead to tens of thousands of drones taking off legally into an already crowded sky, competing for space with domestic aviation. It's a regulator's nightmare-but some of its staunchest opponents have raised the possibility of an even greater danger: terrorist drones.

 

FSW Catalog: Search the Library Here

 

The Birth of the Computer

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tony Valenti
Contact Info
Collier Campus
Bldg. G
239-732-3776
Send Email
 

My QR Code

Google Scholar

 

How Are We Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip