This is the "Home" page of the "Biology " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in the field of Biology.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Science Daily Biology News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

ACS Synthetic Biology Podcast

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Advances in Evolutionary Developmental Biology - J. Todd Streelman (Editor)
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781118707340
Publication Date: 2013-10-17
Providing outstanding breadth of coverage in evo-devo, "Advances in Evolutionary Developmental Biology" provides a comprehensive review of the milestones of research in evolution and development and outlines the exciting research agenda for the field going forward. Compiling the viewpoints of a diverse group of field experts, this timely text expands the now-mature science of evo-devo into more complex areas of research. This essential reference is destined to become the go-to source for ideas and hypotheses for a new generation of graduate students in evolutionary and developmental biology.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought - Michael Ruse (Editor)
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9780521195317
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of On the Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. Fully illustrated and clearly written, it is suitable for scholars and students as well as the general reader. The wealth of information it provides about the history of evolutionary thought makes it a crucial resource for understanding the controversies that surround evolution today.

Cover Art
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia - Michael Hutchins (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1414486693
Publication Date: 2011-03-25

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Ancestors in Our Genome - Eugene E. Harris
Call Number: Lee Campus QH447 .H368 2015
ISBN: 0199978034
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
In 2001, scientists were finally able to determine the full human genome sequence, and with the discovery began a genomic voyage back in time. Since then, we have sequenced the full genomes of a number of mankind's primate relatives at a remarkable rate. The genomes of the common chimpanzee(2005) and bonobo (2012), orangutan (2011), gorilla (2012), and macaque monkey (2007) have already been identified, and the determination of other primate genomes is well underway. Researchers are beginning to unravel our full genomic history, comparing it with closely related species to answerage-old questions about how and when we evolved. For the first time, we are finding our own ancestors in our genome and are thereby gleaning new information about our evolutionary past.In Ancestors in Our Genome, molecular anthropologist Eugene E. Harris presents us with a complete and up-to-date account of the evolution of the human genome and our species. Written from the perspective of population genetics, and in simple terms, the book traces human origins back to their sourceamong our earliest human ancestors, and explains many of the most intriguing questions that genome scientists are currently working to answer. For example, what does the high level of discordance among the gene trees of humans and the African great apes tell us about our respective separations fromour common ancestor? Was our separation from the apes fast or slow, and when and why did it occur? Where, when, and how did our modern species evolve? How do we search across genomes to find the genomic underpinnings of our large and complex brains and language abilities? How can we find the genomicbases for life at high altitudes, for lactose tolerance, resistance to disease, and for our different skin pigmentations? How and when did we interbreed with Neandertals and the recently discovered ancient Denisovans of Asia? Harris draws upon extensive experience researching primate evolution inorder to deliver a lively and thorough history of human evolution. Ancestors in Our Genome is the most complete discussion of our current understanding of the human genome available.

Cover Art
Campbell Biology in Focus - Lisa A. Urry; Michael L. Cain; Robert B. Jackson; Peter V. Minorsky; Jane B. Reece; Steven A. Wasserman
Call Number: Collier Campus Circulation QH308.2 C347 2014
ISBN: 9780321813800
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
In 900 text pages, Campbell Biology in Focus emphasizes the essential content and scientific skills needed for success in the college introductory course for biology majors. Each unit streamlines content to best fit the needs of instructors and students, based on surveys, curriculum initiatives, reviews, discussions with hundreds of biology professors, and careful analyses of course syllabi. Every chapter includes a Scientific Skills Exercise that builds skills in graphing, interpreting data, experimental design, and math--skills biology majors need in order to succeed in their upper-level courses. This briefer book upholds the Campbell hallmark standards of accuracy, clarity, and pedagogical innovation.  

Cover Art
Darwin's Ghosts - Rebecca Stott
Call Number: Lee Campus Circulation QH361 .S76 2013
ISBN: 9780812981704
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK "[An] extraordinarily wide-ranging and engaging book [about] the men who shaped the work of Charles Darwin . . . a book that enriches our understanding of how the struggle to think new thoughts is shared across time and space and people."--The Sunday Telegraph (London) nbsp; Soon after the publication of On the Origin of Species, Charles Darwin received an unsettling letter that accused him of taking credit for a theory that had already been discovered by others. Realizing his error of omission, Darwin tried to trace all of the natural philosophers who had laid the groundwork for his theory, but he found that history had already forgotten many of them. nbsp; Rebecca Stott goes in search of these ghosts, telling the epic story of the discovery of evolution and natural selection from Aristotle to the ninth-century Arab writer Al-Jahiz to Leonardo da Vinci to the brilliant naturalists of the Jardin des Plantes to Alfred Wallace and Erasmus Darwin, and finally to Charles Darwin himself. Evolution was not discovered single-handedly. It was an idea that was advanced over centuries by daring individuals across the globe who had the imagination to speculate on nature's extraordinary ways--and the courage to articulate such speculations at a time when to do so was often considered heresy. nbsp; Praise for Darwin's Ghosts "Absorbing . . . Stott captures the breathless excitement of an investigation on the cusp of the unknown. . . . A lively, original book."--The New York Times Book Review nbsp; "Stott's research is broad and unerring; her book is wonderful. . . . An exhilarating romp through 2,000 years of fascinating scientific history."--Nature nbsp; "Stott brings Darwin himself to life. . . . [She] writes with a novelist's flair. . . . Darwin and the 'ghosts' so richly described in Ms. Stott's enjoyable book are the descendants of Aristotle and Bacon and the ancestors of today's scientists."--The Wall Street Journal nbsp; "Riveting . . . Stott has done a wonderful job in showing just how many extraordinary people had speculated on where we came from before the great theorist dispelled all doubts."--The Guardian (U.K.)

 

Streaming Video

Cell Structure and Function - Films for the Humanities & Sciences
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
This program explores the basic structure of both animal and plant cells and the specific functions that different cell components serve. After an overview of a complete cell, individual segments dive in to detail each of the specific parts. Discrete, pedagogical segments cover: the plasma membrane, extracellular matrix, flagellum and cilia, the nucleus, nucleolus, nuclear envelope, cytosol and cytoplasm, the rough and smooth endoplasmic reticula, the golgi apparatus, ribosomes, lysosomes, vacuoles, peroxisome, and mitochondria. Where plant and animal cells different is made clear, and separate segments on structures unique to plants include the cell wall, plasmodesmata, and chloroplasts.

Stem Cells and Cellular Differentiation - Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
That a tiny collection of cells can divide, multiply, and transform into the proper combination of lung cells, brain cells, bone, muscle, and more-eventually becoming a fully formed human being-is often referred to as the miracle of life. But at the cellular level, this is the story of stem cells, cellular differentiation, and gene expression. This program explores these topics, detailing the different types of stem cells (embryonic and adult), and when they leave the cell cycle to enter differentiation. Cell mutation, gene expression, and the process of epigenetics are also covered. Stem cell potency is also reviewed, as is the role and promise of stem cells in medical research, including the pros and cons of using embryonic versus adult-derived stem cells.

Metamorphosis: The Science of Change - BBC Worldwide Ltd.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2013
Metamorphosis seems like the ultimate evolutionary magic trick. From Ovid to Kafka to X-Men, tales of metamorphosis richly permeate human culture. The myth of transformation is so common that it seems almost pre-programmed into our imagination. But is the scientific fact of metamorphosis just as strange as fiction or...even stranger? Filmmaker David Malone explores the science behind metamorphosis.

 

FSW Catalog: Search the Library Here

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tony Valenti
Contact Info
Collier Campus
Bldg. G
239-732-3776
Send Email
 

My QR Code

Google Scholar

 

How Are We Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip