This is the "Home" page of the "Art & Art History " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art & Art History  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in the field of Art History.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/arthistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Databases

All these library databases are also useful for fiinding articles on art history.  The Oxford Reference Online collection has several excellent reference works on art, art history and the classics.  You can look up definitions, find out about historical figures and eras, and find scholarly background information on your topic.

    Art and Art History Databases

    You may use these library databases to retrieve images of art objects and artifacts, complete with documentation, as well as articles from scholarly journals.

     

    500 Years of Women in Art by Phillip Scott Johnson

    This is just for fun, but it does nicely illustrate different periods of art. 

     

    Reference Books

    Reference books can be useful in helping you decide on an art or artifact to study.  They can also give you in-depth information on artists, periods in art history and timelines.  These books are housed in the Rush Library, Lee Campus.

    Cover Art
    1001 paintings you must see before you die - General editor, Stephen Farthing ; preface by Geoff Dyer
    Call Number: REF ND1145 .A15 2007 Lee Campus
    ISBN: 0789315246
    960 pages : illustrations (chiefly color ) ; 22 centimeters

    Cover Art
    Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
    Call Number: REF NX448 .A747 Lee Campus
    ISBN: 078765695X
    Vol 1. Ancient Egypt, 2675-332 B.C.E.
    Vol 2. Ancient Greece and Rome, 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.
    Vol 3. Medieval Europe, 814-1450
    Vol 4. Renaissance Europe, 1300-1600
    Vol 5. The age of the Baroque and nlightenment 1600-1800

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of world art. - Edited by Bernard S. Myers
    Call Number: REF N31 .E4833 Lee Campus
    This superb 17-volume encyclopedia is a translation of Enciclopedia universale dell’ arte.
    The English edition is published by McGraw Hill, c. 1959-1987.

    Cover Art
    Janson's History of Art , 7th ed. - Penelope J. E. Davies, et. al.
    Call Number: REF N5300 .J3 2007, Circ N5300 .J3 2007
    ISBN: 0131934554
    xxxi, 1111 pages , [various pagings] : illustrations (chiefly color ), maps (chiefly color ) ; 30 centimeters

    Cover Art
    Oxford Companion to Western Art - Hugh Brigstock
    Call Number: REF N33 .O923 2001 Lee Campus
    ISBN: 0198662033
    xvii, 820 pages , [48] pages of plates : illustrations (some color ), portraits ; 29 centimeters
    Primary focus is European art prior to WWI.

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image
    Frank Dowd
    Contact Info
    Office: Rush Library J-213
    Phone: 239-489-9449
    Send Email
     

    My QR Code

    Google Scholar

     

    Google Books

     

    How are We Doing?

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    What are YOUR Favorites?

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip