This is the "Home" page of the "Anatomy & Physiology " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anatomy & Physiology  

This guide contains recommended books, free websites, film, and databases—collections of scholarly journal articles and other resources—that support research in Anatomy & Physiology.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.fsw.edu/anatomyandphysiology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Gastrointestinal Anatomy and Physiology - John F. Reinus
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781118833070
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
Gastroenterologists require detailed knowledge regarding the anatomy of the GI system in order to understand the disturbances caused by diseases they diagnose and treat.  Gastrointestinal Anatomy and Physiology will bring together the world's leading names to present a comprehensive overview of the anatomical and physiological features of the gastrointestinal tract.  Full colour and with excellent anatomical and clinical figures throughout, it will provide succinct, authoritative and didactic anatomic and physiologic information on all the key areas, including GI motility, hepatic structure, GI hormones, gastric secretion and absorption of nutrients.  GI trainees will enjoy the self-assessment MCQs, written to the level they will encounter during their Board exams, and the seasoned gastroenterologist will value it as a handy reference book and refresher for re-certification exams

Cover Art
The Cerebellum - Dianne M. Broussard
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9781118730256
Publication Date: 2013-08-06
"The Cerebellum" provides a concise, accessible overview of modern data on physiology and function of the cerebellum as it relates to learning, plasticity, and neurodegenerative diseases. Encompassing anatomy and physiology, theoretical work, cellular mechanisms, clinical research, and disorders, the book covers learning and plasticity while introducing the anatomy of the cerebellum. Known and proposed "functions of the cerebellum" are addressed on clinical, physiological, cellular, and computational levels, providing academics, researchers, medical students, and graduate students with an invaluable reference.

Cover Art
Human Body from A to Z - Marshall Cavendish Reference Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Online eBook
ISBN: 9780761479468
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
This encyclopedia offers quick access to to key information on all aspects of family health care.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Cardiovascular Care - Mary Ann McLaughlin; Springhouse Publishing Company Staff
Call Number: Lee Campus RC674 .C3585 2014
ISBN: 1451188846
Publication Date: 2014-04-09
Does your heart skip a beat every time you think about the complexities of providing cardio care? Well, not anymore! Written in the award-winning Incredibly Easy! style, this completely updated Third Edition of Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy is the ideal reference for those entering or needing a refresher in cardiovascular nursing care. This one-of-a-kind book brings together the broad knowledge nurses need to be confident in cardiovascular care, including cardiovascular anatomy and physiology; assessment; diagnostic testing; hemodynamic monitoring; electrocardiogram performance and interpretation; medications; synchronized cardioversion; care of patients with IABP counterpulsation, ICDs, pacemakers, and VADs; and preoperative and postoperative care for patients with MIDCAB, CABG, and balloon angioplasty. If you are still learning, Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy will help you master complex subjects in minutes with special elements found throughout the text to make it easy to understand and remember key points and information, including: * Clear, concise descriptions of every procedure and concept * Tips from other cardiovascular nurses on how to perform care * Key information about adapting your care to a home environment * Memory aids and chapter quizzes to promote recall of important information Written by nurses and for nurses, Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy, 3rd edition, will help you conquer the toughest-to-learn topics in nursing

Cover Art
Human Reproductive Biology - Kristin H. Lopez; Richard E. Jones
Call Number: Collier Campus Circulation QP251 .J636 2014
ISBN: 9780123821843
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
The fourth edition of Human Reproductive Biology emphasizes the biological and biomedical aspects of human reproduction, explains advances in reproductive science and discusses the choices and concerns of today. Generously illustrated in full color, the text provides current information about human reproductive anatomy and physiology. This expansive text covers the full range of topics in human reproduction, from the biology of male and female systems to conception, pregnancy, labor and birth. It goes on to cover issues in fertility and its control, population growth and family planning, induced abortion and sexually transmitted diseases. This is the ideal book for courses on human reproductive biology, with chapter introductions, sidebars on related topics, chapter summaries and suggestions for further reading. Beautifully redrawn full-color illustrations complement completely updated material with the latest research results, and clear, logical presentation of topics Covers the basic science of reproduction - endocrinology, anatomy, physiology, development, function and senescence of the reproductive system - as well as applied aspects including contraception, infertility and diseases of the reproductive system New companion website features full-color illustrations as PPT and jpeg files for both professors and students to use for study and presentations

Cover Art
Comprehensive Medical Terminology - Betty Davis Jones
Call Number: Collier Campus Circulation R123 .J66 2011
ISBN: 9781435439870
Publication Date: 2010-06-24
Comprehensive Medical Terminology, 4E is an easy-to-use introduction to medical terminology that will unlock a world of knowledge for readers. This comprehensive book is organized by body system and specialty areas of practice and emphasizes anatomy and physiology, pathological conditions and diagnostic techniques and procedures. The study of word parts, which is the foundation of medical terminology, is integrated into every chapter to enhance comprehension. Comprehensive Medical Terminology, 4E contains simple-to-complex definitions that will strengthen readers' ability to read and interpret medical terms in reports and charts. The accompanying interactive StudyWARE(tm) CD-ROM engages learners with quizzes, 3-D animations, video clips and a variety of games to build knowledge.

 

Streaming Videos

Cell Structure and Function - Films for the Humanities & Sciences
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
This program explores the basic structure of both animal and plant cells and the specific functions that different cell components serve. After an overview of a complete cell, individual segments dive in to detail each of the specific parts. Discrete, pedagogical segments cover: the plasma membrane, extracellular matrix, flagellum and cilia, the nucleus, nucleolus, nuclear envelope, cytosol and cytoplasm, the rough and smooth endoplasmic reticula, the golgi apparatus, ribosomes, lysosomes, vacuoles, peroxisome, and mitochondria. Where plant and animal cells different is made clear, and separate segments on structures unique to plants include the cell wall, plasmodesmata, and chloroplasts.

Hands & Feet : The Incredible Human Hand - BBC Worldwide Ltd.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2014
In a purpose-built dissection lab, Dr. George McGavin is joined by leading anatomy experts to dissect a real hand, taking it apart layer by layer to reveal what makes it unique in the animal kingdom. We discover what gives our hands an rivaled combination of power and precision, and meet people who use their hands in extraordinary ways-from magicians to rock climbers-to discover what gives them such astonishing abilities.

The Human Body Video Clip Collection - QA International.
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2011
As amazing as it is complex, the human body is a marvel of biological machinery! This collection of 52 video clips (30 seconds to 2 minutes 30 seconds each) combines high-quality film footage and detailed animations to take a close-up look at the body’s building blocks, the architecture of the body, the nervous system, the five senses, blood circulation, respiration and nutrition, and reproduction. Video clips include: The Body’s Building Blocks-Introduction; The Human Cell; Chromosomes and DNA; Cellular Activity; Body Tissues; The Architecture of the Body-Introduction; The Skin; Bone Structure; Bone Growth; The Skeleton; The Head; The Spine; The Hand and the Foot; The Joints; The Muscles; Muscle Tissue; The Nervous System-Introduction; The Neurons; The Central Nervous System; The Cerebrum; The Nerves; The Motor Functions of the Nervous System; The Five Senses-Introduction; Touch; Sight; Hearing; Balance; Taste; Smell.

 

FSW Catalog: Search the Library Here

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tony Valenti
Contact Info
Collier Campus
Bldg. G
239-732-3776
Send Email
 

My QR Code

Google Scholar

 

How Are We Doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip